Renew Your License
woman in classroom looking at display
Unsplash

How to Renew Your Florida Real Estate License

Don’t get caught by surprise! Here's a look at all the requirements needed to renew your license, including post-licensing classes and renewal fees.

Just because you got your real estate license doesn't mean you're good to go forever.

Your initial real estate license expires in 18 to 24 months, depending on when you pass the state real estate exam. The expiration date is located on the bottom of your license.

After the first post-license renewal period, you’re required to take 14 hours of Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC)-approved continuing education (CE) classes during each two-year license renewal period.

Here's a breakdown of what you need about how to renew your Florida real estate license and keep you on the market:

Meet special first-renewal requirements

Before your license expires during the first renewal cycle, you must complete and pass a state-approved 45-hour post-license curriculum that builds on the knowledge you acquired during the pre-licensing education courses. 

Important: If you don’t complete the first-renewal post-license education by the expiration date, you will have to start from scratch: retake the pre-license course, pass the exam and retake the state exam.

Classes are available from a variety of vendors, and you can take them either online or in a classroom. Course packages are offered by local boards/associations, accredited colleges, technical centers and real estate schools. Costs vary from $150 to $250. 

One option that many new sales associates choose for the 45-hour post-license requirement is the Graduate, Realtor Institute (GRI) 100 Series education classes. These classes are renowned in the industry as helping sales associates prepare for a successful real estate career. GRI courses are available online and in a classroom setting. Cost varies depending on the sponsoring board or approved provider.

Contact your local board and check out the Florida Realtors Education Calendar for dates and course availability.

After passing the exam, you can download your updated license from the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation (DBPR) website. Renewal fees can be paid online to the DBPR or via check or money order.

Complete continuing education hours

After the first post-license renewal period, you’re required to take 14 hours of Florida Real Estate Commission (FREC)-approved continuing education (CE) classes during each two-year license renewal period.

If your license renewal date is before Sept. 30, 2018, you’ll need to take 11 hours of specialty education and three hours of Core Law.

After that date, the CE credits must consist of three hours of Core Law, three hours of Ethics and Business Practices, and eight hours of specialty education.

Classes are available online, at local boards/associations and through approved real estate school vendors. Check out the Florida Realtors Education Calendar for times, prices and course options.

After completing the 14-hour requirement, you can go to the DBPR website and download your updated license. Renewal fees can be paid online or by check or money order.   

TIP: Keep all your continuing education letters to validate your coursework. If the credits did not get transmitted successfully to the DBPR, you can use the letters to correct the problem.

Reactivate an involuntary inactive license

If your license becomes inactive, you have two years to get it reactivated. If you don’t complete your continuing education requirements and reinstate the license, your license will be void and you will need to start the licensing process from scratch if you want to continue selling real estate.

If your license has been inactive for less than one year, you can get it reactivated by completing 14 hours of continuing education.

If it has been inactive for more than 12 months but less than 24 months, you’ll have to take 28 hours of continuing education credits, including the core law requirements.

You can renew an involuntary inactive license by mailing your renewal notice and fee. For details, contact the DBPR customer contact center at 850.487.1395 or visit www.MyFloridaLicense.com.  

Submit a Continuing Education Deficiency letter

The DBPR monitors CE compliance. If their records show that you haven’t completed all the required hours for a renewal period, they will send you a Continuing Education Deficiency letter. You can see the DBPR’s records for you on their website.

Once you have completed all of your required hours, mail the deficiency letter with copies of your course completion certificates to:

Bureau of Education and Testing
Continuing Education Unit
Department of Business and Professional Regulation
1940 N. Monroe St.
Tallahassee, FL 32399-1046

If you have questions, please call the DBPR’s customer contact center at 850.487.1395 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Eastern time, Monday through Friday.

Please list all of your DBPR license numbers to ensure your continuing education credits are properly applied.

It is your responsibility to ensure that the DBPR has your correct mailing address.  You may update your address online at www.MyFloridaLicense.com or by calling the DBPR customer contact center.